11 Dec 2013

Allocation Under Food Security Act Made to Four States

The National Food Security Act, 2013 is deemed to have come into force on 5th July, 2013, The Act however provides that State Governments may, as soon as possible, but within such period not exceeding three hundred and sixty-five days, after the commencement of the Act, identify the eligible households for coverage under Targeted Public Distribution System (TPDS).This information was given by the Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Prof. K.V. Thomas in a written reply in Rajya Sabha on December 06,2013. 

He said that so far allocation of foodgrains under NFSA, in respect of number of beneficiaries reported to have been identified by the State Government, has been made to Haryana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi. 

As per the State-wise coverage under TPDS and foodgrains entitlements prescribed in the Act, allocation of foodgrains to 18 States/UTs, including Tamil Nadu, is estimated to be lower than what they receive under existing TPDS. 

To address this, it is already provided in the Act that if annual allocation of foodgrains to any State under the Act is less than the average annual offtake for last three years under normal TPDS, the same shall be protected.

 In view of the above, no amendment in the Act is required. 

You May Also Like


Popular Posts